Color Inspector 3D

Version

The current version is Color Inspector 3D 1.0 (30. April 2010).

Description

The Color Inspector 3D shows all colors of an image in a rotatable RGB-color cube. When the user right clicks on an image, the option "show Color Inspector with Image" is shown in the context menu. If the user selects this option a new window is opened which shows the color cube of the image.

The cube can be rotated by dragging over the image. When the user moves the mouse over the thumbnail of the image whose color cube is shown, a marker will be placed on the position of the current color in the color cube and additional information about this color will be shown.

For larger images, the source image will be scaled down before the color cube is generated, which allows faster generation and rendering of the color cube. This option can be changed or modified in the preferences window of the addon.

By default, only the empty frame of the color cube is drawn while the user rotates the cube. Only after the rotation is finished, the colors are drawn as well. This is necessary, for better performance, as the drawing of the colors takes a little time which does not allow for a smooth rotation of the cube. This option can also be turned off in the preferences window of the addon.

Download

The addon can be downloaded via addons.mozilla.org. However, it currently is still in the sandbox. This means it has not been checked and released by addons.mozilla.org yet. As long as this is still the case, you have to check a checkbox, saying you still want to install it.

Screenshots

The "show Color Inspector with Image" option in the context menu
The "show Color Inspector with Image" option in the context menu
The Color Inspector 3D Window showing the Color Cube
The Color Inspector 3D Window showing the Color Cube
The Preferences Window for the Color Inspector 3D
The Preferences Window for the Color Inspector 3D

Acknowledgment

This addon is based on the ImageJ Plugin Color Inspector 3D by Prof. Dr. Kai Uwe Barthel.

Color Inspector 3D

Version

Die aktuelle Version ist Color Inspector 3D 1.0 (30. April 2010).

Beschreibung

Der Color Inspector 3D zeigt alle Farben eines Bildes in einem rotierbaren RGB-Farbwürfel an. Wenn man mit der rechten Maustauste auf ein Bild klickt, so ist die Option "Grafik im Color Inspector anzeigen" im Kontextmenü zu sehen. Wenn diese Option ausgewählt wird, öffnet sich ein neues Fenster, in dem der Farbwürfel des Bildes gezeigt wird.

Der Würfel kann gedreht werden, indem man die Maus gedrückt über die Darstellung des Würfels zieht. Wenn der Nutzer die Maus über das Vorschaubild des Bildes geht, dessen Farbwürfel angezeigt wird, so wird eine Markierung an der Stelle des Farbwürfels angezeigt, an der auch die Farbe des aktuellen Pixels angezeigt wird. Außerdem werden weitere Informationen über diesen Pixel und seine Farbe angezeigt.

Bei größeren Bildern wird das Ausgangsbild erst skaliert, bevor der Farbwürfel erzeugt wird. Dadurch kann der Würfel schneller erzeugt und gezeichnet werden. Diese Option lässt sich in der Einstellungsseite des Addons anpassen oder ausschalten.

Standardmäßig wird nur ein leerer Rahmen gezeichnet, während der Nutzer den Farbwürfel dreht. Erst wenn die Drehung beendet ist, werden auch die Farben eingezeichnet. Das ist notwendig, da das Zeichnen der Farben etwas Zeit benötigt, wodurch eine fließende Drehbewegung des Farbwürfels nicht mehr möglich ist. Auch diese Option lässt sich in der Einstellungsseite des Addons ausschalten.

Download

Das Addon kann via addons.mozilla.org heruntergelanden werden.

Screenshots

Die Option "Grafik im Color Inspector anzeigen" im Kontextmenü
Die Option "Grafik im Color Inspector anzeigen" im Kontextmenü
Das Color Inspector 3D Fenster mit dem erstellten Farbwürfel
Das Color Inspector 3D Fenster mit dem erstellten Farbwürfel
Das Einstellungsfenster für den Color Inspector 3D
Das Einstellungsfenster für den Color Inspector 3D

Danksagung

Dieses Addon basiert auf dem ImageJ Plugin Color Inspector 3D von Prof. Dr. Kai Uwe Barthel.