AdobeRGB to sRGB Filter

Version

The current version is AdobeRGB-to-sRGB-Filter 2.0 (11. December 2007).

Description

This is an album filter for JAlbum which converts images from the AdobeRGB color space in to the sRGB color space. This is important as JAlbum does not support the AdobeRGB color space and saves the images as if they were in sRGB since both profiles have the same annotation. This leads to a strong loss in saturation of the images. The AdobeRGB color space is often used by professional photographers as it can describe a bigger color spectrum compared to sRGB.  This is of an advantage for printing but unfortunately if is not suitable for web publishing as Safari is the only mainstream browser which natively supports AdobeRGB. All other browsers also show the images with less saturation.

Features

  • changes all images in a JAlbum album from the AdobeRGB color space to the sRGB color space
  • several caching mechanisms, to shorten the calculation precess

Warning

  • This filter will be applied to all images in you album. The filter does not check whether or not the image is actually in the AdobeRGB Color Space. All images are recalculated as if they were in the AdobeRGB Color Space. This might cause color problems in images which are not in using the AdobeRGB color space (usually over saturation). So only use this filter if you know what you are doing.
  • The calculation is very time intense. Long calculation times are normal when making an album.
  • The filter does not change the original images. So the images have to be recalculated every time when the album is generated again.
  • If the cache is not set correctly it can cause Java-Exceptions and the album will not be finished. See below for more information on how caching works.

Download

The entire filter package can be downloaded via the JAlbum Forum.

Installation and Usage

Unzip the content of the downloaded archive in the folder "/plugins" in your JAlbum installation (e.g. "C:/Program Files/JAlbum/").

How to apply the filter

  • Open an album of images in AdobeRGB you want to convert.
  • Open the Settings-Window.
  • Go to the section 'Advanced'.
  • Open the 'User Variables'-Tab.
  • Set the name of the first variable to 'filter1' and its value to 'class=AdobeRGBtosRGBFilter prescale=false'.
  • If you use any other filters on that album as well, make sure that they are applied after the AdobeRGBtosRGB-Filter. If any of those filters must be applied with prescale=true, you should change the AdobeRGBtosRGB-Filter also to prescale=true. I can not guarantee on how the images will look correctly if the AdobeRGBtosRGB-Filter is not the first filter. By changing its prescale value to true, the time to generate the album will increase dramatically. Don't be surprised if it takes several minutes for each image(!) to be generated if those are large images.

Caching

In Version 2.0 a caching mechanism was introduced to reduce the calculation time. You can choose between 4 levels of caching: 'none', 'low', 'normal' and 'high'. To set the caching just add e.g. 'caching=high' to the value of the filter variable. The default setting is 'normal'.
The cache saved the already calculated colors in pairs of original color and resulting color. The problem is, that up on a certain size it will throw a Java-OutOfMemoryError. The different levels say how often the cache is cleared to avoid this problem.
High-caching means that there is one cache for the entire album. This is the fasted but also the must vulnerable way of caching and it will break at large images and/or large albums.
Normal-caching means that the cache is cleared after every image. This will break only at large images.
Low-caching means that the cache is reset after every image and if the cache exceeds a certain size. The default size is 100 000 elements. This value can be changed by adding e.g. 'maxCacheSize=200000' to the value of the filter variable.
If the caching variable is set to 'none', no cache will be created. This is the safest and also the most time consuming way of generating your album. Small tip: take a short break and make yourself a cup of coffee or tea.

Version History

Version 1.0

  • Original version
  • changes all images of an album in the sRGB color space

Version 2.0

  • caching mechanism added


Ideas for future versions

  • better cache which is automatically reset as soon as it reaches a critical size
  • recognition if the current image is in the AdobeRGB color space and only then convert

Legal Issues

This filter uses the AdobeRGB1998.icc Color Profile provided by Adobe Systems Inc. By using this filter you agree to the Adobe Color Profile License Agreement. For further details see the file 'Adobe Color Profile License Agreement.pdf' which is included in the filter package.

Adobe is a registered Trademark of Adobe Systems Inc. For further details see the file 'Adobe Trademark Information.pdf' which is also included in the filter package.

AdobeRGB to sRGB Filter

Version

Die aktuelle Version ist AdobeRGB-to-sRGB-Filter 2.0 (11. Dezember 2007).

Beschreibung

Bei dem AdobeRGB-to-sRGB-Filter handelt es sich um einen Albumfilter für JAlbum, der Bilder aus dem AdobeRGB Farbraum in den sRGB Farbraum umrechnet. Das ist wichtig, da JAlbum den AdobeRGB Farbraum nicht unterstützt und die Bilder abspeichert als währen sie sRGB Bilder, da die Notationen identisch sind. Das führt aber leider zu einem starken Verlust an Sättigung in den Bildern. Der AdobeRGB Farbraum wird häufig von professionellen Fotografen benutzt, da er ein größeres Farbsprektrum beschreiben kann als der sRGB-Farbraum. Für den Druckbereich bringt das somit Vorteile. Leider ist dieser Farbraum nicht für das Internet geeignet, da Safari der einzige große Browser ist, der ihn unterstützt. Alle anderen stellen die Bilder ebenfalls sehr sättigungsarm dar.

Features

  • wandelt alle Bilder eines JAlbum-Albums von dem AdobeRGB-Farbraum in den sRGB-Farbraum um
  • verschiedene Caching Mechanismen, um die Berechnungszeit zu verkürzen

Warnung

  • Dieser Filter wird auf alle Bilder des Albums angewendet. Der Filter prüft nicht, ob die Bilder tatsächlich im AdobeRGB Farbraum gespeichert sind. Alle Bilder werden umgerechnet, als seien sie im AdobeRGB-Farbraum. Das kann zu Problemen führen, wenn die Bilder tatsächlich nicht im AdobeRGB-Farbraum gespeichert sind (sind sie im sRGB-Farbraum gespeichert, so führt das zu einer Übersättigung der Bilder). Der Filter sollte daher nur angewendet werden, wenn man sich der Konsequenzen bewusst ist.
  • Die Berechnung ist sehr zeitintensiv. Lange Rechenzeiten beim Erstellen des Albums sind also normal.
  • Dieser Filter ändert nicht die Originalbilder. Das heißt, dass er die Bilder jedes Mal erneut berechnen muss, wenn das Album neu erstellt wird, was lange Rechenzeiten zur Folge haben kann.
  • Wenn der Cache nicht richtig eingestellt ist, kann es zu Java-Exceptions kommen und das Album wird nicht fertig erstellt. Siehe weiter unten, wie der Cache eingestellt wird.

Download

Das ganze Filterpacket kann über das JAlbum Forum heruntergeladen werden.

Installation und Anwendung

Den Inhalt des heruntergeladenen Archivs in den Ordner "/plugins" in der JAlbum Installation (z.B. "C:/Programme/JAlbum/") entpacken.

Wie man den Filter anwendet

  • Das Album mit den zu konvertierenden Bildern öffnen.
  • Auf "Einstellungen" klicken um das Einstellungsfenster zu öffnen
  • Auf den Menüpunkt "Erweitert" gehen.
  • Dort den Tab "Benutzervariablen" auswählen.
  • In der ersten Zeile als Variable "filter1" eingeben und als Wert "class=AdobeRGBtosRGBFilter prescale=false"
  • Sollten noch andere Filter auf das Album angewendet werden, die mit dem Zusatz "prescale=true" versehen sind, so sollte, um eine richtige Funktionalität dieser Filter zu gewährleisten, der AdobeRGB-to-sRGB-Filter ebenfalls als prescale-Filter angewendet werden und zwar als erste Filter. Dadurch kann die Berechnungszeit pro Bild dramatisch erhöhen. Es kann dann unter Umständen mehrere Minuten pro Bild(!) dauern, um dieses umzuwandeln.

Caching

Mit der Version 2.0 wurde ein Caching-Mechanismus eingeführt, um die Rechenzeit zu verkürzen. Man kann zwischen 4 verschiedenen Leveln auswählen: "none", "low", "normal" und "high". Der Standartwert-Mechanismus ist "normal". Um das Level zu ändern, muss man z.B. "caching=high" an den Wert der Filtervariable anhängen.
Der Cache speichert die bereits umgerechneten Farben als Paare von Orginal und Resultat. Allerdings wird ab einer bestimmten Größe ein Java-OutOfMemoryError geworfen. Die verschiedenen Level geben an, wie oft der Cache geleert wird, um dieses Problem zu vermeiden.
High-caching besagt, dass der Cache für das gesamte Album verwendet wird. Das ist die schnellste aber auch verletzlichste Art des Caching und führt bei großen Alben oder Bildern zu Problemen.
Normal-caching besagt, dass der Cache nach jedem Bild zurück gesetzt wird. Das kann bei großen Bildern zu Problemen führen.
Low-caching besagt, dass der Cache nach einer bestimmten Anzahl von Einträgen zurück gesetzt wird. Standartmäßig sind das 100 000 Elemente. Dieser Wert kann geändert werden, in dem man die Filtervariable z.B. mit "maxCacheSize=200000" erweitert.
None-caching heißt, dass kein Cache erstellt wird. Das ist die langsamste aber sicherste Weise ein Album zu erstellen. Kleiner Tipp: ein paar Minuten Auszeit nehmen und einen Kaffee oder Tee trinken gehen.

Versionsgeschichte

Version 1.0

  • Ursprüngliche Version
  • Umwandeln aller Bilder eines Albums in den sRGB-Farbraum

Version 2.0

  • Caching-Mechanismus hinzugefügt


Ideen für zukünftige Versionen

  • Verbesserter Cache, der sich automatisch zurücksetzt, sobald er eine kritische Größe erreicht hat
  • Erkennen, ob aktuelles Bild im AdobeRGB-Farbraum ist und nur dann umwandeln

Rechtliche Hinweise

Dieser Filter benutzt das AdobeRGB1998.icc Farbprofil, welches von Adobe Systems Inc. zur Verfügung gestellt wurde. Durch die Benutzung dieses Filters erkennt man auch die Adobe Color Profile License Agreement an. Die Adobe Color Profile License Agreement liegt dem Filter in englischer Sprache als Datei 'Adobe Color Profile License Agreement.pdf' bei.

Adobe ist ein eingetragenes Markenzeichen von Adobe Systems Inc. Weitere Informationen dazu in der Datei 'Adobe Trademark Information.pdf', die ebenfalls dem Filter beiliegt.